Archive | 1:17 pm

What Do You Do With Your Almond Butter Jars?

8 Sep

You know when there is only a little itty bitty bit of nut butter left?  Not nearly enough to coat a piece of toast, but too much to throw out…

My Favorite Almond Butter In The World!

I like to eat my oatmeal out of my almond butter jars!

Meet Almond Butter & Strawberry Jelly Oatmeal.

Just make 1/2 cup oatmeal with 1 cup water in separate bowl.  Add salt, strawberries, cinnamon & sweetener if desired.  Pour into nut butter jar.  Mix up and enjoy.  This breakfast will keep you full until lunch with the fiber from the berries and the oats and the protein from the nut butter.

Now, I only do this when there is about a tablespoon or less left!  This breakfast is around 300 calories!  =)

I also brought one of my favorite things in the world with me to work today.

Have you ever had komucha tea before?  Because it is awesome and it is addictive!  It is kind of vinegary but once you get used to the flavor you totally crave it.

Tempeh Satay On A Hungry Day

8 Sep

Last night I decided to make Tempeh Satay.  This is a recipe that I adapted from the Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30 to meat my dietary needs. =)

This meal was awesome!  I can’t wait to make it again…  I made a vegan version, but feel free to make it with chicken.  I recommend the tempeh though!  =)

Tempeh Satay with Whole Wheat Couscous

Rachel’s Tempeh Satay

Take 1 block of tempeh and cut into 4 even pieces. Place 1/2 cup tamari (low sodium soy sauce), 1/2 cup orange juice, 1/2 tablespoons lime juice and 2 cloves chopped garlic in a bow and mix.  Add tempeh and marinate for at least 10 minutes to overnight.  I let this sit in my fridge over night.  The flavors really got to know each other and made the tempeh super yummy!  Spray frying pan with a little oil and grill each side of the the tempeh for 5 minutes or so.

While the tempeh is cooking, you are going to make the yummy peanut sauce!!!  In your handy dandy Magic Bullet or food Processor place 2 tablespoons of peanut butter, 1 tablespoon of agave or honey, 1 tablespoon of rice wine vinegar (she uses 1/4 cup and it is gross! I had to make the sauce twice), 1 tablespoon fresh ginger (I used powdered because that’s all I had.), 1/4 teaspoon of sesame oil and a dash of red pepper flakes if you are feeling zesty.  Mix up…  Yum Yum

Serves 4…  Around 200 calories a serving with sauce.

I served mine with with whole wheat couscous and broccoli because I was having a hungry day!

 

I hate hungry days…  You know those days where no matter how much you eat or what you eat, you should can’t stop being hungry.  I think this all stemmed from lunch…

I was in a rush yesterday morning and needed to  make lunch.  I decided to go for a can of black bean soup.  I added spinach and served with carrots and a piece of cheese.  It filled me up, but I got hungry pretty quickly after.

The Hunger Culprit!

So shortly after lunch I was starving and I decided to eat my apple…

Which might have made me hungrier…

When I got home I ate a homemade almond butter cup, not pictured because I ate it all…  I decided to make the satay after that and then I was still kind of hungry!!! I made a happy little sweet treat…

Strawberry Shortcake Yogurt Bowl! =)

The Guilt Free Strawberry Shortcake Yogurt Bowl

1/2 cup plain fat free organic yogurt
1/2 cup strawberries
1/4 cup cereal – I used a mixture…  I couldn’t decide
2 teaspoons honey

Mix & enjoy

What do you do on your hungry days?