Sugar Detox: Days 2 and 3

20 Jan

Family exercise day! Everyone is susceptible to winter weight gain.

Family exercise day! Everyone is susceptible to winter weight gain.

Sugar Detox: Days 2 and 3

I didn’t find my sugar cravings too intense the past two days. I managed to hang in there and stick to my healthy meal plan. When I wanted something sweet, I had a clementine. It was kind of a downer, but I feel like that is just my body and my mind getting over my sugar addiction.

I notice my most intense sugar cravings sneak up on me around 9pm when I am settling in watching television. I just get the urge to snack on something… something sweet in particular. Last night, I really really wanted to grab a few chocolate chips on my way to bed, but I managed to control myself. Instead, I had a cup of sleepy time tea and went to sleep slightly disappointed. Is it a coincidence that my body was craving sweet, milky, sugary chocolate about the time my head was about to hit the pillow? I have heard that your body craves simple carbohydrates when it is tired because they will help keep you awake. Knowing that kind of armed me into making a better decision in going for the tea.

Besides my sugar detox, I am trying to make other changes to make a healthy lifestyle more sustainable.

Here are the changes that I’ve made thus far…

1. You can actually see my kitchen table.
This weekend, I made it my mission to remove all the crap from my table. I hear you are supposed to use those things for eating dinner. I have yet to do so, but hopefully I will do so soon in order to discourage myself from mindlessly eating in front of the television.

2. I bought a ton of tea!
I am trying to get out of the habit of reaching for a handful of delicious milk chocolate chips after dinner. I am going to try to combat the urge and satisfy the cravings with tea…. Just to cover all my bases, I got a variety of flavors… Green, Sleepy Time, Vanilla and Caramel.

Cheers to day 2 & 3!

Leave a comment