Gourmet Oatcakes & Treadmill Climbs

30 Aug

image

Welcome to day 10 of the Lose 8 challenge. I had a little extra time this morning, so I decided to mke the 15 minute oatcake. I had to ad a little Rachel love to it though.

Oatcake a la Rachel
I love this recipe. It is so easy and it kind of taste like french toast. First, place 1/2 cup one minute oats in a food processor and grind into flour. Mix oat flour with 4 egg whites, 1 dash sea salt, 1 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 teaspoon vanilla, and 1/2 teaspoon baking powder. Fold in 1/3 cup blueberries. Cook like you would a regular pancake. In a bowl mix 1/4 cup greek yogurt with a little vanilla extract & I used a drop of stevia (optional). Drizzle with 1 teaspoon maple syrup.

And as promised I will tell you my favorite treadmill workout.
3.5 incline at 3.5 speed 5 minutes
2.0 incline at 5.0 speed 2 minutes
5.0 incline at 3.7 speed 5 minutes
2.0 incline at 5.2 speed 2 minutes
5.0 incline at 3.7 speed 5 minutes
2.0 incline at 5.5 speed 2 minutes
7.0 incline at 3.7 speed 5 minutes
2.0 incline at 5.7 speed 2 minutes
10. Incline at 3.5 speed 5 minutes
2.0 Incline at 6.0 speed 2 minutes
7.0 Incline at 3.7 speed 4 minutes
2.0 Incline at 5.7 speed 1 minute
5.0 Incline at 3.7 speed 4 minutes
2.0 Incline at 5.5 speed 1 minute
This was courtesy of the January issue of Self magazine.

Let me tell you, on paper this workout looks super easy. Man, you really work up a sweat doing this and burn around 430 calories. =)

3 Responses to “Gourmet Oatcakes & Treadmill Climbs”

  1. Cara! August 30, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Hi hi hi!
    How do you remember the work out?
    Do you keep the magazine on the treadmill?

    Also, what kind of food processor, blender and mixer do you have? I was thinking about investing in a Vitamix..

    • confessionsofaserialbaker August 30, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

      Hey Cara! I have done this workout so many times that I have it memorized! But when I first get a workout I usually write the steps down on a little piece of paper and take it with me to to gym. This way I can sneak a peek and the paper isn’t so bulky that it will cover the timer or the incline on the treadmill. You can still see the settings.

    • confessionsofaserialbaker August 30, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

      Oh! I would love a vitamixer! They are supposed to be the shiznit, but they are super expensive. They are probably worth the investment.

      I have 2 cuisine art food processors, a small one for lttle things and a large one for food commitments! The small one will run you about $40. Sign up for bed bath & beyond coupons and you could get it for $30. I also have a magic bullet that I just got from kohl’s. It is so handy for smoothies ad chopping. Worth the investment and it doesn’t take up a lot of space. My advice is get it at kohl’s wheb you get a 30% off coupon & you can get it for $42.

Leave a comment